15. International Mendelssohn Summer School

September 13 – 26, 2021

The Summer School of the International Mendelssohn Festival takes place for the fifteenth time from 13 – 26 September 2021. Renowned artists hold Master Classes (Violin, Viola, Cello, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, Piano, Conducting and Chamber Music) and perform in concerts at the Hochschule for Music and Theater Hamburg.

Highly qualified music students from four continents will come together in Hamburg for two weeks of Master Classes to put their musical skills to the test and to further refine their playing under professional guidance. An illustrious team of instructors comprised of internationally renowned professors will coach students during this period.

REGISTRATION FOR MASTER CLASSES EXPECTED FROM 15 JANUARY 2021 POSSIBLE!

14

Days

25

Master Classes

20+

Concerts

120+

Students

Love to music

Timeline Summer School 2021

  • January 15, 2021*

    Start of registration phase (*expected)

  • May 15, 2021

    Registration deadline

  • June 15, 2021

    Completion of selection & notification of participants

Arto Noras
Violoncello

Auryn Quartett
Chamber Music

Tanja Becker-Bender
Violin

Ulrich Windfuhr
Conducting

The 2021 Summer School will offer over 20 master classes!

Prof. Niklas Schmidt

Director International Mendelssohn Festival (IMF)

Cellist Niklas Schmidt, together with Klaus Stolberg (Foundation of the Friends of the Hamburg Hochschule for Music and Theater) and Elmar Lampson (President of the Hochschule for Music and Theater Hamburg), established the Mendelssohn Summer School in 2007.

Since then, the annual Summer School has developed into a festival of international caliber. To date, over 1200 students from the world over have attended the master classes of over 60 internationally renowned instructors. The 25 concerts performed by students and teachers, which can be visited with the so-called “Listening Pass”, enjoy enormous popularity.

Niklas Schmidt, himself Professor for Chamber Music and Cello in Hamburg, performed for 20 years with the Trio Fontenay and is active today as soloist and chamber music partner in various constellations across the globe. He is a champion of chamber music, which he supports in a variety of ways, including with his concert series FontenayClassics or with the International Chamber Music Competition Hamburg (ICMC).

www.niklasschmidt.com

With kind support of:

Bodo Röhr Stiftung
Jutta und Dr. Thomas Kittel-Stiftung
Johann Heinrich Poppe Stiftung
Hans-Kauffmann Stiftung
NORDAKADEMIE-Stiftung
Stiftung Hamburger Hilfsspende
Alster-Hof Melzner-Stiftung
Hamburger Sparkasse
BORNHOLD DIE EINRICHTER

15. International Mendelssohn Summer School

13. – 26. September 2021

Vom 13. bis 26. September 2021 findet zum 15. Mal die Summer School des International Mendelssohn Festival statt. Renommierte Künstler geben Meisterkurse (Violine, Viola, Violoncello, Flöte, Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott, Saxophon, Klavier, Dirigieren und Kammermusik) und Konzerte in der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

Hochqualifizierte Musikstudierende aus aller Welt werden zwei Wochen lang in Hamburg zusammen kommen, um in zahlreichen Meisterkursen ihre musikalischen Fähigkeiten unter Beweis zu stellen und unter professioneller Anleitung ihr Spiel weiter zu veredeln. Angeleitet werden sie dabei von international renommierten Künstlern. Die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit präsentieren die Meisterschüler in zahlreichen Konzerten.

Anmeldung zu Meisterkursen voraussichtlich ab 15. Januar 2021 möglich!

14

Tage

25

Meisterkurse

20+

Konzerte

120+

Studenten

Liebe zur Musik

Timeline Summer School 2021

  • 15. Januar 2021*

    Start Anmeldephase (*voraussichtlich)

  • 15. Mai 2021

    Anmeldeschluss

  • 15. Juni 2021

    Abschluss Selektion & Benachrichtigung Teilnehmer

Arto Noras
Violoncello

Auryn Quartett
Kammermusik

Tanja Becker-Bender
Violine

Ulrich Windfuhr
Dirigieren

Die Summer School 2021 wird über 20 Meisterkurse bieten!

Prof. Niklas Schmidt

Direktor International Mendelssohn Festival (IMF)

Der Cellist Niklas Schmidt hat 2007 gemeinsam mit Klaus Stolberg (Stiftung der Freunde der Hamburger Hochschule für Musik und Theater) und Elmar Lampson (Präsident der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg) die Mendelssohn Summer School ins Leben gerufen.

Seitdem hat sich die jährlich stattfindende Summer School zu einem Festival von internationalem Format weiterentwickelt. Bisher haben über 1200 Studenten aus der ganzen Welt die Meisterkurse von über 60 international bekannten Dozenten besucht. Die 25 Konzerte von Schülern und Lehrern, die mit einem sogenannten Hör(s)pass besucht werden können, erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit.

Niklas Schmidt, selbst Professor für Kammermusik und Violoncello in Hamburg, spielte 20 Jahre lang im Trio Fontenay und ist heute als Solist und Kammermusikpartner mit unterschiedlichen Formationen weltweit tätig. Für die Kammermusik setzt er sich vielseitig ein, u.a. mit seiner Konzertreihe FontenayClassics oder seinem Internationalen Kammermusikwettbewerb Hamburg (ICMC).

www.niklasschmidt.com

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Bodo Röhr Stiftung
Jutta und Dr. Thomas Kittel-Stiftung
Johann Heinrich Poppe Stiftung
Hans-Kauffmann Stiftung
NORDAKADEMIE-Stiftung
Stiftung Hamburger Hilfsspende
Alster-Hof Melzner-Stiftung
Hamburger Sparkasse
BORNHOLD DIE EINRICHTER