11. International Mendelssohn Summer School

The Summer School of the »International Mendelssohn Festival« takes place for the eleventh time from September 11 – 24, 2017. Renowned artists hold Master Classes (Violin, Viola, Cello, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, Saxophone, Conducting and Chamber Music) and perform in concerts at the Hochschule for Music and Theater Hamburg.

Highly qualified music students from four continents will come together in Hamburg for two weeks of Master Classes to put their musical skills to the test and to further refine their playing under professional guidance. An illustrious team of instructors comprised of internationally renowned professors will coach students during this period.

APPLICATION

Application is now possible!
Application deadline is May 15.

News

IMF concert on YouTube

Facebook

Violin
Hagai Shaham

Viola
Hartmut Rohde

Violoncello
Arto Noras

Flute
Patrick Gallois

Overall, the 11th »International Mendelssohn Festival« offers 22 different master classes.

Prof. Niklas Schmidt

Director International Mendelssohn Festival (IMF)

Cellist Niklas Schmidt, together with Klaus Stolberg (Foundation of the Friends of the Hamburg Hochschule for Music and Theater) and Elmar Lampson (President of the Hochschule for Music and Theater Hamburg), established the Mendelssohn Summer School in 2007. Since then, the annual Summer School has developed into a festival of international caliber. To date, over 500 students from the world over have attended the master classes of over 30 internationally renowned instructors. The 25 concerts performed by students and teachers, which can be visited with the so-called “Listening Pass”, enjoy enormous popularity.

Niklas Schmidt, himself Professor for Chamber Music and Cello in Hamburg, performed for 20 years with the Trio Fontenay and is active today as soloist and chamber music partner in various constellations across the globe. He is a champion of chamber music, which he supports in a variety of ways, including with his concert series FontenayClassics or with the International Chamber Music Competition Hamburg (ICMC).

10. International Mendelssohn Summer School

Vom 12. bis 25. September 2016 findet zum neunten Mal die Summer School des »International Mendelssohn Festival« statt. Renommierte Künstler geben Meisterkurse (Violine, Viola, Violoncello, Flöte, Klarinette, Saxophon, Dirigieren und Kammermusik) und Konzerte in der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg.

Hochqualifizierte Musikstudierende aus aller Welt werden zwei Wochen lang in Hamburg zusammen kommen, um in zahlreichen Meisterkursen ihre musikalischen Fähigkeiten unter Beweis zu stellen und unter professioneller Anleitung ihr Spiel weiter zu veredeln. Angeleitet werden sie dabei von international renommierten Künstlern aus Europa, Japan und den USA. Die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit präsentieren die Meisterschüler in zahlreichen Konzerten. Die international auch als Solisten anerkannten Professoren runden das Angebot mit eigenen Konzerten ab.

News

IMF-Konzert auf YouTube

Facebook

Violine
Christian Altenburger

Viola
Nobuko Imai

Violoncello
Arto Noras

Flöte
Patrick Gallois

Insgesamt bietet das zehnte »International Mendelssohn Festival« 20 verschiedene Meisterkurse.

Prof. Niklas Schmidt

Direktor International Mendelssohn Festival (IMF)

Der Cellist Niklas Schmidt hat 2007 gemeinsam mit Klaus Stolberg (Stiftung der Freunde der Hamburger Hochschule für Musik und Theater) und Elmar Lampson (Präsident der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg) die Mendelssohn Summer School ins Leben gerufen. Seitdem hat sich die jährlich stattfindende Summer School zu einem Festival von internationalem Format weiterentwickelt. Bisher haben über 500 Studenten aus der ganzen Welt die Meisterkurse von über 30 international bekannten Dozenten besucht. Die 25 Konzerte von Schülern und Lehrern, die mit einem sogenannten Hör(s)pass besucht werden können, erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit.

Niklas Schmidt, selbst Professor für Kammermusik und Violoncello in Hamburg, spielte 20 Jahre lang im Trio Fontenay und ist heute als Solist und Kammermusikpartner mit unterschiedlichen Formationen weltweit tätig. Für die Kammermusik setzt er sich vielseitig ein, u.a. mit seiner Konzertreihe FontenayClassics oder seinem Internationalen Kammermusikwettbewerb Hamburg (ICMC).